Last night, I played an offertory on the piano that may not have been familiar to many of you. It was an arrangement that combined the second movement of Beethoven’s Pathetique Sonata with the hymn The Sands of Time Are Sinking. This is one of my favorite hymns, both for its text and for its memorable melody. Take some time to read through the words of this great hymn. The four stanzas usually sung are taken from the original 19 written by Anne Ross Cousin. You can read all 19 stanzas and listen to the melody at

The sands of time are sinking, the dawn of Heaven breaks;
The summer morn I’ve sighed for—the fair, sweet morn awakes:
Dark, dark hath been the midnight, but dayspring is at hand,
And glory, glory dwelleth in Immanuel’s land.

O Christ, He is the fountain, the deep, sweet well of love!
The streams of earth I’ve tasted more deep I’ll drink above:
There to an ocean fullness His mercy doth expand,
And glory, glory dwelleth in Immanuel’s land.

With mercy and with judgment my web of time He wove,
And aye, the dews of sorrow were lustered with His love;
I’ll bless the hand that guided, I’ll bless the heart that planned
When throned where glory dwelleth in Immanuel’s land.

The Bride eyes not her garment, but her dear Bridegroom’s face;
I will not gaze at glory but on my King of grace.
Not at the crown He giveth but on His pierced hand;
The Lamb is all the glory of Immanuel’s land.


No responses yet

Leave a Reply